A Day More to Announce the Winners of Indian Car of the Year and Indian Motorcycle of the Year Awards 2018

The countdown to the most coveted automobile awards the Indian Car of the Year (ICOTY) and Indian Motorcycle of the Year (IMOTY) Awards 2018 has begun, as car and bike aficionados wait eagerly for December 13, 2017. In less than two weeks, guests at the glitzy evening at Taj Diplomatic Enclave in New Delhi will be regaled to mystical fusion music by rock band Indian Ocean. Leading tyre manufacturers JK Tyre & Industries Ltd has been associated with ICOTY and IMOTY since their inception and sponsors these prestigious auto awards handed out every year to honour achievements in the automotive industry.

Launched in 2005 and 2007 respectively, the ICOTY and IMOTY Awards aimed at recognizing the efforts of auto manufacturers in India, are given out by a panel of automobile experts drawn from leading auto publications of the country. To qualify as a member of this eminent panel, jury members have to have a minimum of five years’ experience in reviewing and writing about various cars and motorcycles. With miles behind them, the members of the jury are the foremost authorities when it comes to understanding the finer nuances that set automobiles apart. It is this knowledge they put to test while picking up winners from a list of contenders, all very capable vehicles in their own right.

Winners are picked on the basis of set criteria, including fuel-efficiency, value, comfort, design, performance, technology and features. A major factor that goes into the selection of the final winner is the vehicle’s adaptability and suitability to Indian roads and conditions. This year’s awards will be decided by a panel of jurists who have judged the entries on merit, examining each car and motorcycle against the criteria set for the category. The jury list includes – Yogendra Pratap (Auto Today), Rahul Ghosh (Auto Today), Dhruv Behl (Auto X), Ishan Raghava  (Auto X), Aspi Bhathena (Car India),  Sarmad Kadri (Car India), Sirish Chandran (Evo India), Aninda Sardar (Evo India), Kartik Ware (Motoring World), Raunak Ajinkya (Motoring World),  Bob Rupani (Overdrive),  Rohit Paradkar (Overdrive),  Girish Karkera (Top Gear), Agasti Kaulgi (Top Gear) , Muralidhar Swaminathan (The Hindu Business Line),  Pablo Chaterji (Mans World), Vikrant Singh (Carwale) and our Chief Editor Hani Musthafa.

Shortlisted contenders are leading manufacturers and innovators in their own segments and have posed a challenge to the jury in picking the best out of the best.  The list of contenders for this year’s ICOTY includes 16 cars, while as many as 14 motorcycles are vying for top honours in the Indian Motorcycle of the Year category.

ICOTY 2018 Contenders

  • BMW 5 Series
  • Honda WR-V
  • Hyundai Verna
  • Isuzu MU-X
  • Jeep Compass
  • Maruti Suzuki Dzire
  • Maruti Suzuki Ignis
  • Renault Captur
  • Skoda Kodiaq
  • Tata Hexa
  • Tata Tigor
  • Tata Nexon
  • Volkswagen Passat
  • Volkswagen Tiguan
  • Mercedes Benz E-Class
  • Jagaur F-Pace

IMOTY 2018 Contendors

  • Hero Glamour 2017 Edition
  • Suzuki Intruder 150
  • Bajaj Pulsar 160 NS
  • Yamaha FZ 25
  • KTM Duke 390
  • Bajaj Dominar 400
  • Kawasaki Z650
  • Harley-Davidson Street Rod
  • Triumph Street Triple
  • Triumph Bonneville Bobber
  • MV Agusta Brutale 800
  • Honda CRF1000L Africa Twin
  • Kawasaki Z900
  • Benelli 302R


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: